Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Cargo trousers: A second offering Lekala #5066

1 Comment

I made a pair of turquoise cargo trousers a while back. I had an initial problem with the waist size, which was way too large, but I managed to fix that. Now, they are very much a favourite pair of trousers. Comfortable, practical…but just a bit too much of a statement in such a bright colour at times. I have had in mind to make a black pair of trousers for a while, so I basically repeated these cargo trousers but in a black canvas. Of course, making sure that the waist size was actually right this time!

Lekala 5066 cargo trousers in black canvas

The pattern is Lekala #5066. As far as I know this pattern beats all the others out there in terms of great looking pockets. I have seen so many ready-to-wear cargo trousers this year in the shops, I’m just surprised this hasn’t been reflected in the pattern offerings. However, I know that sewing trousers is never as popular as other items of clothing.

Think I managed to get the light so that the details on these trousers are visible!

Lekala patterns are a bit of challenge mostly because the instructions are poor. But, if you have sewn trousers before, I would recommend just using the instructions from a previous satisfactory make for guidance. The trousers are conventional in many ways; there’s a zip fly, patch pockets (front, back and sides) and loads of topstitching. I used the instructions from the True Bias Lander trousers to create the front patch pockets, because I love putting a fancy lining into my pockets. I used the instructions for the Ginger Jeans to make the zip fly. So, do whatever, feels right for you. I would definitely advocate mixing instructions sets to get the look you are after.

Lined pockets using the method from True Bias Lander pattern

The fabric is from Minerva Crafts. It is slightly thicker than the fabric I used for the turquoise pair, but that is intentional. I feel these are going to be useful as a winter season pair of trousers and because they are relatively loose fitting there is room for a pair of leggings underneath, should it get really cold working from home in January.

Leakage 5066 cargo trousers in the sun so it is possible to see the pockets properly!

To finish up, because there isn’t much to talk about with a repeat make, I have been wondering how to style these trousers. I’m wearing them in the two photos above first with a red and white striped t-shirt and then with a blue velvet sweatshirt. I suppose, being black they can be worn with pretty much anything.

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

One thought on “Cargo trousers: A second offering Lekala #5066

  1. Beautiful Cargo trousers sewing you. Nice looking.

Leave a comment