Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

#Makenine2024 The Plans

4 Comments

I’ve finally got round to be customary drawings for this year’s plan. I have five spots to fill in the plan and this meant I have quite a few options to consider. I took a slightly different approach this year and created lists under four broad titles; Home, Stash, Mending or refashion and Requiring new fabric or yarn. I then prioritised the items in each list. Here’s my scruffy list:

Make Nine 2024 List

I suppose some of the items don’t make too much sense so, perhaps a bit of description is required about those that I chose.

1. Tablecloth

We’ve had the same wipe-clean tablecloth on our dining room table since the days when Master Steely was a messy littlun. It’s a bout time we upgraded to something little more sophisticated than cartoon fish!

2. Snake

I suppose this item could have been placed in the Stash list too. There is quite a gap at the bottom of the door from our living room to the kitchen, so I’ve decided to make a snake to stop the drafts. To be honest I haven’t seen such items in a home since the seventies. Perhaps we have all forgotten how to keep a house warm and cosy, whilst not cranking up the heating. I should have made the snake at the beginning of the winter, it isn’t as if I’m lacking in small pieces of fabric that could be used for this purpose.

3. Corduroy jacket

I’m really looking forward to delving into this make. I’m a glutton for punishment and I have a Burda pattern lined up for this. That said, I can tell this will be a very rewarding make and will be a really useful addition to my wardrobe. The pattern is like a shacket, but with a hood.

4. Pinafore dress

This is the Dusty dress I made a while back and that just hasn’t had as much wear as I would like. I like it, but it needs to be lined and then it would work better with tights. Unfortunately, this process will mean taking the whole thing apart. I tried it on yesterday and remembered just how cute and unique it looks and I think it will be worthwhile, even though I’m not particularly relishing the sewing.

5. Jumper

I have to add a knitting item on my Make Nine. This jumper is more ambitious than last year’s hat, given I have never made any knitted item with a button band. However, it will be in a chunky knit, and therefore the knitting shouldn’t take too long.

Here’s the complete Make Nine 2024, including my left overs from last year (see here for more details on these). There’s quite a cosy feel to this year’s crop; including three items I intend to make in wool fabric or yarn. I’ve also added two household items which makes a difference to previous lists.Let’s hope I manage to get through as many as last year.

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

4 thoughts on “#Makenine2024 The Plans

  1. I really like your drawings and how you can carry them over from year to year and add in new ones. I love the seventies pinafore. Have you seen how the March Burdastyle is borrowing heavily from the 1960s vintage special? I wouldn’t be surprised if designs from the 1970s special appear sometime soon. Not good for those of us who already own the Specials. I remember those draught excluders too! 😀

    • Thank you – still don’t manage to make the faces look anything like me, and I like to avoid hands and feet, but they do the job. I do hope Burda produce another 70s special. I have the vintage special and I’ve used it for that dress, and my jumpsuit. I must dip back into it again.

  2. looking forward to the corduroy jacket!

    I have one of those door snake things, my very crafty gran used to make them and she made me a red velvet one. It must be 30 years old and still going strong – probably the ultimate bang per buck of home sewing.

  3. wonderful your plan. Really I like your drawings & always you add in new ones. I like. Beautiful pattern & design. Good job work.

Leave a comment