Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Italian Sewing Magazines – Part 2……Taunting me

3 Comments

I hope I’m writing this particular post prematurely. I’d written a “Part 1” some while ago and I had always intended to make a Part 2 featuring how to order Italian magazines on line and how I got on with that. Then I’d follow it with review of the magazine and a sewing project. Lockdown provided the perfect opportunity (if you can call it that!) to order the magazines on the internet. My usual habit of picking up a couple of magazines when I’m on holiday hasn’t happened, because I haven’t been able to visit Italy for quite a while.

La Mia Boutique Cover

I looked at Cristiana Carpentieri’s reviews of La Mia Boutique. The reviews are in (extremely fast) Italian, but they go page-by-page through the magazine and we can all look at pretty pictures of clothes!

I picked out a selection of back issues; there was one issue with a brilliant selection of mens’ patterns (definitely a hole in my pattern collection) and another issue had a stunning jumpsuit in it, that I had high hopes would be a party outfit (if we are allowed out anywhere come December). All tempting stuff!

I went onto the La mia boutique website and ordered the magazines. It is possible to pay on their website either by bank transfer or paypal. I tried to pay initially by bank transfer, but the details quoted on the site don’t actually work, so paypal it was. I got an email confirmation and then stopped thinking about it for a few weeks.

La mia boutique - ordering backissues

La mia boutique – ordering back issues

Mr Steely had ordered an Italian motorbike magazine (Mondo Ducati) at roughly the same time and lo and behold, his magazine appeared just over 3 weeks after his order. Good, I thought, I’m sure mine will arrive soon. I’m still waiting….. I thought generously that back issues “might” be more difficult to bundle together than just sorting out a subscription, but it is now 9 weeks that I’ve been waiting for the order even though it was apparently posted on 17th August.

I sent an email to Hepi Press, the publishers. They replied that I should wait another two weeks, citing bank holiday and covid problems. I’ve done that….another email and no reply yet.

I started looking at the issues of La Mia Boutique – October’s here and November’s here. What fantastic issues – there’s an amazing skirt design in the October issue and a collection modelled totally in black fabrics. The November issue has a super padded coat. I’m sobbing into my keyboard now…….

I’m hoping that somewhere a La Mia Boutique person is reading this, pities me and those magazines will magically appear….

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

3 thoughts on “Italian Sewing Magazines – Part 2……Taunting me

  1. Oh how frustrating 😦 I hope they turn up soon.

    I have occasionally got La Mia Boutique issues via Unique Magazines in the UK.

    • I’ll check that out, perhaps it would be easier to buy them in a non-direct way. All been very frustrating, and I was so looking forward to getting these magazines. I would say that their esthetic is similar to Burda – interesting designs, designs that make you think.

Leave a comment