Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

I have a plan and Papercut’s new pattern collection

4 Comments

When I’m at home I very anti-planning and anti-lists. That’s because I don’t want my home life to feel like I’m at work! However, I have a little dilemma in the coming couple of months. There’s The Monthly Stitch IPM challenge plus I’m really interested in taking part in the Summer of Basics challenge being held by Fringe Association.

I  need to think seriously about how I’m going to find the time for all this sewing; I’m a notoriously slow seamstress. Not only that, but I need to time my makes to the challenge schedules. This means not one but two deadlines!

After a long hard think I decided that I would pare back my involvement at the Monthly Stitch and just create two garments. One of these garments I’ve made previously too. Hopefully this will take away the time-consuming element of modifying the fit since I’ve already made those adjustments to the pattern.

The Summer of Basics challenge just requires three garments to be made over 3 months. This is definitely my sort of challenge – no rush involved here! However, timed to overlap with IPM2017 makes it harder. All in all, my plan is to make 5 garments over the three months of summer. It doesn’t sound difficult, but I know I will be pushed to find time, especially once Master Steely has finished school at the end of July. I’ll keep you posted on my levels of panic! Just remind me that I’m doing this as a hobby!

Papercut Pattern’s Sakura collection

Otsu Jeans

Imagine my surprise at seeing a very familiar pattern in Papercut’s new collection. They are called Otsu Jeans. But do you not think they hold more than a fleeting resemblance to this pair of jeans I made last year?

I made a pair of trousers back in 2015 using the original Peter and the Wolf pattern from their Constellation collection, that is now no longer available on the Papercut website. Although I do wear these trousers frequently – they are great at airports because I wear them without a belt, I’ve never been wholly convinced about side-zip trousers. I find I need to hitch they up every now and then and I’m convinced they are as good a fit as they can be ( I made them a little tighter after I took the photos).

This led to me making a pair of trousers (I could probably call them jeans as they are in denim), but with a conventional zip fly at the front and belt loops. Seems like Papercut thought this was a good idea too!

 

Anyway, if you are considering buying the new Otsu Jeans pattern and you can’t see any made up by anyone online yet, have a look at my Wolfie jeans. Plus, unlike when I made my pair, you’ll get Papercut’s excellent instructions to follow.

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

4 thoughts on “I have a plan and Papercut’s new pattern collection

  1. Good luck with your challenges! I’m trying to take part in some of the Monthly Stitch’s IPM challenges but I think I’m the same as you: I have all of the ideas and none of the time. Ah well. As long as we’re still making things, it’s all good.

    • Cool – which challenge are you doing?

      • I really wanted to make something for the dress and the ‘new to me’ challenges, but I am literally not going to be anywhere near my sewing machine during those weeks! it won’t stop me from making my planned garments, but I won’t be able to get anything up for the actual challenges, unfortunately. On the up side, my jumper for The Sewback Project will be done in time for the extended deadline, so that’s making me happy.

  2. The paper cut patterns new collection is gorgeous! I’m looking forward to seeing more of your makes.

Leave a Reply

