Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Me Made May 2017 Thoughts

7 Comments

Here’s my pledge for Me Made May:

“I, Steely of https://steelyseamstress.wordpress.com sign up as a participant of Me Made May 2017. I will endeavour to only wear Me Made items for all of May. This is very exciting for me as in previous years I have signed up to wear at least one Me Made item each day only, but now I have enough stuff to do this!”

Wow, this is going to be interesting trying to wear only Me Made items this month! Just to clarify, I don’t have any Me Made socks, tights, active wear or much night wear so I’m going to exclude these from the challenge, but everything else is going to be included. Although I have lots of me-made clothes May I expect there are going to be some gaps in my wardrobe. I don’t really have to do the whole month to know that I have only one cardigan and only one bra. We’ll see how this goes, with The Monthly Stitch Indie Pattern Month coming up there will be more wardrobe additions. I’m just hoping I can steer myself towards my wardrobe needs, rather than embark on whatever tempting project I fancy!

I do have more underpants now. I’ve been trying to turn over a new leaf and have sewn up some knickers from left-over fabric that was previously used for t-shirts. Here are the two pairs of knickers I’ve sewn up so far. I’m now wearing one of these pairs and they are extremely comfortable – they are based on a favourite pair of RTW knickers that long ago met their demise.

May is a transition month here and I’m fully expecting the first week or so to feel quite cold and I’ll be able to wear some of the clothes I wear throughout the winter and spring months. That said, the later half of May is usually far warmer and I will be spending a few days of the month in Italy; I’m envisaging some more summery items for these days.

Finally, I’m doing my usual recording methods – a daily photo and a record of what I wore in my Me Made May spreadsheet. I suppose this process is akin to a wardrobe audit and has proved useful in the past. I think I’m going to record the year in which a particular me-made item was made too. Perhaps, this will be a good way of recording whether my older items get as much use as the newer items.

Are you joining in with Me-Made-May this year?

 

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

7 thoughts on “Me Made May 2017 Thoughts

  1. Good luck with your Me Made May pledge! I’ve had a go at it in the past but as I try to wear me-made stuff as often as I can all year, it felt like I wouldn’t be doing anything different. As I also had no luck coming up with a related pledge (ie. make an outfit for a particular reason, etc.) I figured I’d just sit on the sidelines and support everyone else. Have fun with it!

  2. Good luck with your pledge! I did it one year. Although I enjoyed it, I had problems taking the photos everyday. So I try to wear me mades every day instead! ☺️

  3. I did try it but I’m not so keen on taking all the photos. It did help me to realise that my me-mades were worth wearing and now I wear them more or less every day.

    • That’s impressive! I do wear my me-mades a lot, but I’m not that prolific so I still keep and wear RTWs as well. Yes, the photos can be a pain, thank goodness it’s only a month!

  4. Pingback: Me Made May 2017 – Week 1 | Steely Seamstress

Leave a Reply

