Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Sewing The Seventies – Inspiration Part 4 Dresses and Jumpsuits

Leave a comment

In the final install of my inspiration posts for the seventies, I’m taking a look at dress and jumpsuit styles.

I’ve found some great maxi dress styles. There’s the Alix dress from By Hand, which has a very seventies vibe:

byhand_alix

There are also some re-released vintage patterns by Simplicity. I particularly like this flowing faux wrap front dress:

Of course, the most iconic dress of the seventies is probably the wrap dress. Originally designed in 1974 by Diana Von Furstenberg. The dress was so successful, Diana and the dress featured on the cover of Newsweek (see the montage at the top of this post).

There is a superb article here, if you want to find out more about Diana Von Furstenberg, her design style and philosophy

Diana also released a sewing pattern of her dress, but it goes for silly money on Etsy and Ebay, so I thought I’d focus on some more affordable contemporary patterns. First of all, there is the Diana wrap dress by Wardrobe By Me. This is definitely inspired by the original (note the name of it!) and even features a version with a collar:

wardrobebyme_dianawrap

The Ultimate wrap dress by Sew Over It is another wrap dress for jersey knits:

sewoverit_ultimatewrap

Or how about the Gillian wrap dress by Muse, which has long and short-sleeved options plus wrap top and skirt versions too?

Finally I love this fantastic dress from Victory Patterns. It is described as a fusion between a wrap dress and a kimono. It does look amazing in silk.

Now for the jumpsuits! I’ve seen lots of incarnations of the By Hand Holly jumpsuit online. It has a bias cut bodice with a slight cowl at the neckline. To me it looks perfect for summer.

byhand_holly

I think this Vogue jumpsuit is very glamourous. I could see myself wearing this to a party – perhaps it is just the sparkly fabric, but it just says Christmas party to me.

vogue_v1506

The Sallie Jumpsuit has both a full-length and culottes version. Even better, there are pockets and interesting V-back feature.

Hope you’ve enjoyed my tour of dresses and jumpsuits. There is so much choice out there! I promise my next post I’m going to share something I’ve been making.

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

Leave a Reply

