Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Seventies Challenge and a Giveaway

8 Comments

There are many sewing challenges in the blogosphere and I thought it was time to launch my own! Over the next few weeks I’m going to dedicate my blog to writing about the fashions, influences and other aspects of the 1970s. I’m even planning to spend two weeks wearing just my seventies-inspired fashions (when I’ve finally finished my makes!)

More importantly, I thought that it would be lovely to include all you good people out in the blogging world. And there’s no better way to do that than to run a competition. The general idea is to produce an item or items inspired by the seventies. There will be more details to follow, but to get started I thought I’d offer a giveaway as inspiration. I spotted this Burda Magazine in the newsagents before Christmas. It includes 11 patterns taken from Burda magazines of the decade.

Burda Cover

There are flamboyant styles…..

Seventies Dress (Burda)

… and more restrained designs too, such as this waistcoat.

img_1251

For each design the original styling in the 1970s magazine is shown and the design is shown again, styled for a more modern look.

Suit (Burda)

Seventies Jumpsuit (Burda)

Seventies Dress (Burda)

There are also articles about what influenced the fashions of the seventies such as this one about Abba.

Seventies Abba (Burda)

Just leave a comment below and I’ll select a winner at random. The giveaway is open until Sunday22nd. I’m happy to post wherever in the world.

 

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

8 thoughts on “Seventies Challenge and a Giveaway

  1. Oh what fun! The 70s style was edgy, relaxed, and daring, I can’t wait to see all your makes.
    Corinne

  2. Sounds great! Looking forward to hearing more details…

  3. Looking forward to seeing the results! Am a child of the 70s and the fashions hold a special place in my heart.

  4. The seventies is the decade I most wish I’d gotten to experience! This sounds like great fun. Looking forward to seeing more! 🙂

  5. Such lovely photos! I have memories of a frightening PINK polyester pant suit (just a top and bell bottoms) which I wore to death. I must have looked frightful. I can’t imagine wearing such a thing ever again. There would have to be some changes made!! I’ll be watching for more news.

  6. Pingback: Sewing the Seventies – A Stripy Sweater | Steely Seamstress

Leave a Reply

