Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Hacking it in Batsford

4 Comments

I’ve just made another pair of Peter and the Wolf trousers from Papercut patterns. I made a pair last year and have enjoyed wearing them. I have been looking forward to making another pair. This time I chose to make a denim pair with grey top-stitching. The fabric came from Ditto fabrics and is a dark indigo stretch denim.

Wolfie_07

 

Wolfie_04

I usually find that I have to rely on belts to keep trousers sitting at the waist. So unfortunately, a side closure and waistband with no belt loops was always going to be a bit of a risk for me.

Wolfie_08

This new pair are therefore also a pattern hack. I’ve married the Grainline Moss Skirt front fly closure and shaped waistband with the Peter and the Wolf legs and yoke for this pair. I also added more top-stitching and belt loops, using the Ginger jeans tutorial instructions to give a more jeans-like look. There are more details on my hack on my Monthly Stitch post.

Wolfie_01

Wolfie_05

Wolfie_03

I decided to give my new pair of trousers their first outing on a visit to Batsford Arboretum. The arboretum is home to one of the largest private tree collections in the UK, and is famed for trees which originate in Japan and China, including the Handkerchief tree.

HanderschiefTree

There are some beautiful views across the Cotswold countryside.

Arboretum_01

Arboretum_03

The arboretum dates back to the early part of the 17th Century. It was created to look like a wild garden. There is an artificial stream that runs through the gardens and our walk took us over wooden bridges and past a waterfall. Batsford Park’s most well-known residents were probably the infamous Mitford sisters, who lived there during World War I.

Arboretum_04

Arboretum_02

Being a weekday, it was very quiet and tranquil.

Wolfie_06

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

4 thoughts on “Hacking it in Batsford

  1. Pingback: RTW Copycat: A Laurie t-shirt with extra bling | The Monthly Stitch

  2. Pingback: Sequin Bird T-shirt | Steely Seamstress

  3. Pingback: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly – Review 2016 | Steely Seamstress

  4. Pingback: Sewing the Seventies – Bell-bottom Jeans Part 1 | Steely Seamstress

Leave a Reply

