Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

February Quick Make – Digital Camera Bag

6 Comments

I was at Westonbirt Arboretum last year, taking photos of the winter lights and I managed to drop my camera bag. It’s one of those annoying things that happens sometimes and now I don’t want to put my camera straight in my bag in case it gets scratched. So, I knew I needed to make a replacement bag. Even better, I thought it would make an easy embroidery project too.

Westonbirt

You will need:

  • A 18 x 15 cm rectangle of fabric for the camera bag (or just over twice the size of your camera)
  • Embroidery floss in these colours:
  • Grey, red, two shades of blue, yellow
  • Thread to sew the bag
  • Cord for the drawstring
  • A bead to secure the drawstring
  • Needle for embroidery (I needed a leather needle as my fabric was  thick faux suede)
  • Tracing paper
  • Embroidery hoop (optional, I didn’t use one as the faux suede is reasonably rigid)

Adding the embroidery design to the fabric

1. Print out the embroidery pattern (click here)

2. Trace the pattern onto tracing paper.

3. Put the fabric in an embroidery hoop (optional).  I didn’t do this step as my faux suede is quite a heavy fabric. Pin the tracing paper to the fabric.

Traced design

4. Transfer the design to the fabric. There are various methods to do this, but as my fabric is quite dark I decided to sew my design roughly onto the fabric.

Traced design

5. Thread a needle with two strands of the grey embroidery thread. Secure the thread on the reverse by “darning-in”. Use stem-stitch for the outline of the camera and flash. Once the thread is finished again secure the end by darning in.

6. Use single stitches in blue for the reflections on the lens. For the lines of shadow on the camera use grey embroidery thread. Single stitches are also used for the light from the flash in yellow. Add the little red light on the front of the camera in red satin stitches.

Embroidery for camera bag

Making the embroidery design into a bag

1. Fold the fabric to the wrong side to create a seam of 1.5 cm. Tack in place and then machine stitch x mm from the folded edge. This will create the casing for the cord.

2. Next fold the bag in two lengthways with the right sides together. Next stitch along the top edge and the right-hand edge as shown in the photo below. Take care to leave a gap on the left-hand side so that a cord can be threaded through the casing. Trim the seams, particularly at the corner.

Camera Bag

3. Thread a cord through the casing. Generally I attach a small safety pin to the end of the cord to help me pull it through the casing.

4. Thread the cord through a bead and then add a knot on each end of the thread so that the bead won’t come off.

Finished Camera Bag

5. Turn the camera bag the right way out and it’s ready to use!

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

6 thoughts on “February Quick Make – Digital Camera Bag

  1. What a great little project! The embroidery adds the perfect touch!

  2. My mum has just made my dad some camera bags and so she will definitely be reading your post when I see her. Hers are just plain! How dare she! ?!?It definitely needs a beautiful camera on the front! It looks brilliant.

  3. Pingback: Sewing the Seventies – Bell-bottom Jeans Part 1 | Steely Seamstress

Leave a Reply

