Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Weaving Destination Fashion Show

Leave a comment

Today is a very exciting day for me! About 6 weeks ago I a spotted an announcement from Debi at My Happy Sewing Place for a Weaving Destination fashion show to be held at the Edinburgh Festival. Weaving Destination is a fabric social enterprise that Debi co-founded with Javita Narang. It benefits women weavers in India, many of whom are survivors of human trafficking. The beautiful, hand-woven fabrics in cotton and silk are for sale in their Etsy shop.

The announcement called for entries for garments for the fashion show and homeware and craft items for a Weaving Destination stall. The only stipulations being that all creations should use the Weaving Destination fabrics and be your own designs.

A month of frenzied sewing began and just in time for the deadline at the end of July, I sent my creations off to Edinburgh.

I created a halter-heck top with a shirred back and a mini wrap skirt fastened with wooden buttons. Here are some pictures of me in the park wearing my designs:

Rimini Top

Lido Skirt

Debi has also written about these on her latest post on the show alongside all the other entries. They all look spectacular. I’m gutted that I can’t get to the festival. It is unfortunately quite a long way for me to go and I would need a couple of days off work just to get there and back!

Never mind, I wish Devi and Navita all the best for the show and if you are there, enjoy!

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

Leave a Reply

