Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

Wall-to-wall sewing

2 Comments

Tomorrow, I’ve definitely got a full day of sewing. I’ve enrolled myself on an Overlocking course. I haven’t got an overlocker at the moment, I haven’t been able to justify spending money on one yet, when there are still so many projects I would like to do first on my sewing machine. But given that I do spend a lot of my time in T-shirts, I can’t really continue with making all my own clothes without either getting an overlocker or radically changing my dress sense.

I’m hoping this course will acquaint me with working with an overlocker and knit fabrics. I hope it will equip me with the skills to start using an overlocker from the moment I buy one this way. I’m also looking forward to meeting a few more seamstresses. After all, apart from my Mum and my niece, I don’t know any in real life and certainly no-one else my age.

T-shirts on washing line

Of course, to top off my sewing extravaganza the new series of The Great British Sewing Bee starts in the evening. Is anyone else looking forward to this?

Author: steelyseamstress

Sewing a new wardrobe

2 thoughts on “Wall-to-wall sewing

  1. I can’t wait for the program tonight!!!! I would love an overlocker. I’ve been looking on ebay. There are masses. I think they get bought with the best of intentions and only used a couple of times. So now I need to work out what’s best and value for money.

Leave a Reply

